Mark and Emma Simpson win National 12 Scottish championship at East Lothian 31/8/06

East Lothian Yacht Club were the hosts for the 2006 National 12 Scottish Championships, raced for on 26-27 August, and provided the fleet with a great weekend of sailing and socialising.

Saturday’s first race was postponed for half an hour due to lack of wind, with the Race Officer knowing his sailing water well and hanging on for the breeze to kick in, which it did right on cue. Bernard Clark/Sue Jones took an early lead and held it to the end, although Mark and Emma Simpson showed increasing speed to push hard for the finishing line. Roger Brisley and James Gibbons took 3rd place.

The wind continued to strengthen for the next two races, which seemed to really the Simpsons, who had blistering speed and claimed line honours in both of them. Clark and Jones pushed them hard to take second place in each race, with Brisley and Gibbons hard on their heels. With the wind now gusting 35mph the fleet were glad to get safely back ashore. The evening was spent ‘Caribbean’ style in the Clubhouse with some fantastic cocktails, a superb supper and some brain-teasing quizzes.

Sunday morning saw the wind blowing stronger than it had on Saturday and the Race Officer left it to the fleet to decide if they wanted to race. With all to play for Clark and Simpson were keen to go but it soon became evident that the conditions were too wild for safe racing and various members of the fleet got to taste the water as the increasingly large waves pitch-polled the boats. The fleet sailed home and after a lunch of pie and beans the Simpsons were ‘crowned’ Scottish Champions again. Brisley and Gibbons were worthy winners of the Mariner Mug for the first Admiral’s Cup boat.

Overall Results
1st Mark and Emma Simpson (N3472, Big Issue), Scaling Dam SC
2nd Bernard Clark/Sue Jones (N3447, Final Chapter), Yorkshire Ouse SC/Nottingham SC
3rd Roger Brisley and James Gibbons(N3334, Design 8), Scaling Dam SC/ELYC
4th Stewart Miatt/Chris Scott (N3464, Final Chapter), Yorkshire Ouse SC/ELYC

Admiral’s Cup Fleet
1st Roger Brisley and James Gibbons(N3334, Design 8), Scaling Dam SC/ELYC
2nd Angus and Rowan Beyts (N2717, China Doll), Tummel SC