Jonathan McKee (247- TEAM McLube) leader the second leg of the Mini Transat has dismasted

Jonathan McKee (247- TEAM McLube) leader the second leg of the Mini Transat has dismasted just a few days from the finish and is currently heading towards the coast of Brazil under jury rig. According the race committee, McKee (pictured left), is on the same course as Sebastien Roubinet (346- Adrenalin) who dismasted in virtually the same place as McKee. Although it is unclear where the two boats are heading, it is likely they’ll go for Natal or Joao Pessoa, on the far east coast of Brazil.

McKee’s diversion has left Samuel Manuard (431 Tip Top Too), winner of the first leg from La Rochelle, in control of the race once again with Armel Tripon (151- Roty Mill) 35 miles astern. And since passing Ilha Fernando the two have pulled out a 73-mile lead on the next competitors – Pierre Rolland and Alex Pella.

David Raison’s decision to stay out to the west has cost him his 50-mile lead in the production fleet. He’s now in third position behind Manuel Castilla and David Sineau. Others to watch in this fleet include Yann and Jean-Pierre who are currently sailing faster and on a more direct course for Ilha Fernando, trailing by just 7 and 19 miles respectively. Once they’ve passed Fernando, there’ll be fewer tactical choices but the weather traps along the Brazilian will be a real tester.

Ian Munslow, one of the two British competitors, is sailing well, making some good tactical moves and is working his way up the fleet. Overnight he made another couple of places and is now lying in 16th place ahead of Cian McCarthy from Ireland in 18th place and Raison in 17th. James Bird, the other young British sailor is now in 49th place in his chartered Berret design.

The leading boats are due to start arriving in Salvador (Bahia) during the middle of the day on Thursday (16 October).

Positions (13 October 07:00 TU)1 431 Samuel Manuard TIP TOP TOO – LE GRAU DU ROI PORT CAMARGUE proto S051658 W0325640 0576.5 miles to the finish

2 151 Armel Tripon MOULIN ROTY proto S044428 W0324111 0611.8 miles to the finish

3 347 Pierre Rolland EXTRADO proto S033581 W0321728 0682.9 miles to the finish

4 240 Alex Pella AQUATEC – SANTIVERI – TEXKNIT proto S033601 W0321500 0683.4 miles to the finish

5 247 Jonathan McKee TEAM MC LUBE proto S035073 W0330201 0708.0 miles to the finish

6 260 Richard Mérigeaux BON PIED BON OEIL proto S025125 W0312005 0752.6 miles to the finish

7 346 Sébastien Roubinet ADRENALINE proto S020626 W0311678 0790.1 miles to the finish

8 353 Willy Garcia CEYLAN DIAMANTES proto S021725 W0305653 0793.4 miles to the finish

8 354 Bruno Garcia SALADINO proto S021838 W0305540 0793.4 miles to the finish

10 312 Pascal Doin ASNQ proto S021278 W0305131 0800.3 miles to the finish

11 303 Enrico Podesta DIABOLO-SLAM proto S015721 W0304613 0815.4 miles to the finish

12 139 François Cuinet REGLISSE proto S012631 W0310950 0828.6 miles to the finish

13 385 Jaume Mumbru PORT DE BARCELONA proto S013171 W0305118 0833.0 miles to the finish

14 167 Manuel Castilla VISION ORIGINALE serie S011316 W0310513 0842.4 miles to the finish

15 428 David Sineau FRANCE FERMETURES serie S005515 W0311083 0856.6 miles to the finish

16 326 Ian Munslow ISHTAR proto S005393 W0305543 0863.9 miles to the finish

17 440 David Raison RAYON LIQUIDE serie S003726 W0314321 0864.6 miles to the finish

18 393 Cian Mc Carthy THE TOM CREAN proto S003166 W0321166 0866.8 miles to the finish

19 318 Yann Riou THRANE & THRANE serie S010173 W0302651 0871.6 miles to the finish

20 138 Eric Defert AMIRAL DE BRETAGNE proto S010986 W0301324 0872.9 miles to the finish