Safran skipper finishes ahead of Michel Desjoyeaux to take title

Safran skipper Marc Guillemot was crowned 2009 IMOCA world champion after finishing ahead of Michel Desjoyeaux (Foncia) and Armel Le Cléac’h (Brit Air) in the annual rankings. He received the trophy from Jean-Pierre Champion, President of the French Sailing Federation.

Marc Ventre, member of the Board of Safran commented: “Safran has achieved a remarkable set of results: not only did she complete the three IMOCA championship races she took part in, but she also finished the season at the top of the rankings with her win in the Transat Jacques Vabre last November. This technological success would mean nothing, it it did not also involve the fantastic human adventure that we owe to Marc.”

The highest placed Briton was Sam Davies, who finished fourth.

2009 IMOCA rankings

1 Marc Guillemot (Safran) 362 pts
2 Michel Desjoyeaux (Foncia) 357 pts
3 Armel Le Cléac’h (Brit Air) 338 pts
4 Sam Davies (Artemis II) 321 pts
5 Vincent Riou (PRB) 304 pts
6 Dee Caffari (Aviva) 295 pts
7 Arnaud Boissières (Akena Vérandas) 292 pts
8 Brian Thompson (Pindar) 281 pts
9 Steve White (Spirit of Weymouth) 250 pts
10 Richard Wilson (Great American III) 220 pts