Set for one of the most impressive line-ups of the past 40 years

With 73 pre-entries and the participation of veritable offshore racers, La Solitaire du Figaro 2010 has one of the most impressive line-ups of the past 40 years. Le Havre will host the start of La Solitaire for the first time on 27 July. Skippers will set sail from here on a 1,717 nautical mile mix of inshore and offshore racing over a four stage race.

La Solitaire remains one of the toughest races of the year, and attracts both professionals and amateurs. Of the 73 entries, 17 are rookies, three are women and eight are foreigners (not French).

No less than five previous winners will attempt to go for a second title, following in the steps of Jérémie Beyou, Armel Le Cléac’h, Kito de Pavant, Eric Drouglazet and Nicolas Lunven – the 2009 winner. “Yann Eliès, Gildas Morvan, Corentin Douguet, Thierry Chabagny and Frédéric Duthil will be on the start line and setting out to try and get that overall win,” explained race director, Jacques Caraës just a few hours before he set off on the Jules Verne Trophy record. “And La Solitaire would definitely not feel the same without the unconditional entry of the…most senior member, Jean-Paul Mouren, who will be racing his 24th Solitaire!”

Of the 17 new comers this year, Bernard Stamm (SUI) will be the most surprising, as he is already a big name in offshore racing. Most notable in the international group are Brits Jonny Malbon and Nigel King, and Paul O’Rian (IRE). Amongst the women will be the very young Katie Miller (GBR), ninth in last year’s OSTAR 2009.

For more, visit

2010 Race Stages:

Le Havre
Village opens: Tuesday 20 July
Suzuki Prologue: Sunday 25 July
Start of the 1st leg: Tuesday 27 July

Gijon (515 miles)
Expected arrival of the boats: Friday 30 July
Start of the 2nd leg: Tuesday 3 August

Brest (418 miles)
Expected arrival of the boats: Thursday 5 August
Start of the 3rd leg: Monday 9 August

Kinsale (349 miles)
Expected arrival of the boats: Wednesday 11 August
Start of the 4th leg: Monday 16 August

Cherbourg-Octeville (435 miles)
Expected arrival of the boats: Thursday 19 August
Parade: Sunday 22 August