Big line-up expected for La Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro including two British sailors 10/2/06

A total of 69 international skippers including 29 rookies and five women, have submitted their entries to La Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro 2006, to win the one of the undisputed sporting challenge of the summer: 1,898 nautical miles solo between France, Spain and Ireland, which will produce the overall winner of the 37th edition.

Star event of the Figaro Bénéteau circuit for the past 37 years, La Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro has revealed talented sailors and the 2006 edition promises to be equally exciting as to date the race registers 69 entries. Well-known or less known sailors, professionals or amateurs, old hands or rookies? all are determined to take the start of this mythical race from Cherbourg-Octeville which starts on 6 August.

Those who have announced their intention to take part include the winners of previous editions: Charles Caudrelier (2004), Armel Le Cléac’h (2003), Kito de Pavant (2002), Eric Drouglazet (2001), leg winners: Gildas Morvan, Yann Eliès, Laurent Pellecuer, and hopeful winners: Frédéric Duthil, Marc Thiercelin, Christophe Lebas, and of course, the new wave of rookies: Jean Pierre Dick (double winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre 2003-2005), Corentin Douguet (winner of the Transat 6.50), Christopher Pratt (winner of the Challenge Espoir Crédit Agricole), Stanislas Malard, Gildas Mahé, Ronan Treussard.

Other competitors include: Samantha Davies (England), Liz Wardley (Australia), Isabelle Joschke (Germany), Nigel King (England), Antonio Pedro Da Cruz (Cape Verde) and Pietro d’Alí (Italy).