Paul Jenkins and Colin Hatton from Weir Wood SC won the Hoo Freezer event sailing an RS 800

The 31st Hoo Freezer for monohull dinghies was held over the weekend of 9-10 February – with a practice race on the Saturday, which would count for prizes if the main race on the Sunday had to be abandoned.

As usual Hoo Ness Yacht Club hosted the event with assistance from other clubs on the Medway providing volunteers and craft for safety cover with sponsorship was provided by Singer & Friedlander, Alcatel, Hoo Marina and Peter & Maureen Gaskin. The event was also the fourth and final event in the Typhoon Winter Classic Circuit series. A total of 82 entries representing 32 classes and from 28 clubs in the south-east, Sussex, the Solent, Thames Valley and Midlands reservoirs took part.

Overall Results

Practice Race

2nd Neil Ashby/Roz Allen (Hayling Island SC) RS 800

3rd Mark Barnes and Howard Patterson (Whitstable YC) RS 800

Hoo Freezer Trophy

1st Paul Jenkins and Colin Hatton (Weir Wood SC) RS 800

2nd Neil Ashby and Roz Allen (Hayling Island SC) RS 800

3rd Vince Horey and Vyv Townend (King George SC) Fireball

4th Chris and Nicky Catt (Downs SC) 29er

5th David and Laura Hall (RYA) 29er

6th Simon Allen (Hayling Island SC) International Canoe

7th Martin Scarth and Nigel Sheppard (Blackwater SC) Fireball

8th Mark Barnes and Howard Patterson (Whitstable YC) RS 800

9th Andrew Peake (Bough Beech SC) RS 600

10th Steve and Katie Restall (RS 200)

Fastest Average Lap time

Paul Jenkins andColin Hatton (Weir Wood SC) RS 800

First entry Hoo Ness YC or Wilsonian SC

Martin Jones (Wilsonian SC) Contender

First Junior

Mark Heather (Wilsonian SC) Laser Radial

First Class Team

MRX – Maurice Cleal and Martin Thompson, Geoffrey O’Neill and Tim Unaman, Rob Dulson and Dylan Marvely

First Club Team

Downs SC – Chris and Nicky Catt, Steve and Katie Restall, and Richard and Martyn Styles