Ian Southworth and team Inmarsat Hedgehog win championship for third time 5/9/07

After 12 races in generally windy, shifty conditions in Neustadt/Hamburg , the title of European Champion and winner of the John Adams trophy once again was awarded to team Inmarsat Hedgehog. Helmsman Ian Southworth and his crew fought hard with the overall winner of the open entry team Bravissimo of Brasil and helmsman Daniel Glomb.

After winning the title three times already – the latest wins in 2005 and 2006 – this year’s win marks a milestone in J/24 history. “We are very happy and proud over this victory for the fourth time” as Chris McLaughlin of Inmarsat Hedgehog puts it.

A total of 43 boats from seven Nations such as Brazil, the UK, Sweden, Italy, Holland, Hungary and Germany enjoyed close racing on the choppy and windy waters of Neustadt, with gusts up to 30 knots. Due to these shifty conditions, races sometimes had to be postponed due to local weather systems delivering wind shifts with more than 40 degrees.