Thirty-knot winds brought chaos to the Mini Transat fleet including three dismastings just hours after the start of the second leg

Big winds brought chaos to the Mini Transat fleet just hours after the start of the second leg from Lanzarote last night. In winds reaching 30kts there were many casualties including a dismastings for Ghrislain Gendron (102- Ville de Bandol), Frédéric Duthil (265 – All Mer) and Francis Hueber (404- Shaitan Ensieta Ecole d’Ingénieurs Brestoise). Duthil and Hueber are currently heading towards closest island of Gran Canaria under jury rig where they will join Gendron. Jacques Valente (355- Action innocence) is also heading for the island with gear problems.

Frédéric Duval (304- Sojasun) who broke his rudder blade and flying jib boom on the first leg is heading back to Lanzarote although it is unclear at this stage what the problem is. Alessandro Zamagna (342- Arke) and Barnabé Chivot (335-FTH Thirard) both suffered broken flying jib booms. Chivot headed back to Puerto Calero while Zamagna headed for island of Fuerte Ventura. Both of them hope to be able to repair the damage and set off again as soon as possible. Meanwhile the rest of the fleet has faired reasonably with Armel Tripon in his proto (Moulin Roty) leading the fleet ahead of François Cuinet (Reglisse) and Alex Pella. Pierre Rolland who sailed the furthest track to the east is currently lying fourth, just three miles ahead of Jonathan McKee. Sam Manuard, the winner of the first leg from La Rochelle to Lanzarote, is down in 12th position. David Raison in Rayon Liquide (Pogo 2) is leading the production boats in 10th place.

The two British boys Ian Munslow and James Bird are lying 42nd and 51st respectively, while Chris Sayer, the unofficial New Zealand entry, had problems with his bowsprit yesterday and eventually left Lanzarote eight hours after the fleet.


1 151 Armel Tripon MOULIN ROTY proto

2 139 François Cuinet REGLISSE proto

3 240 Alex Pella AQUATEC – SANTIVERI – TEXKNIT proto

4 347 Pierre Rolland EXTRADO proto

5 247 Jonathan Mc Kee TEAM MC LUBE proto

6 346 Sébastien Roubinet ADRENALINE proto

7 354 Bruno Garcia SALADINO proto

8 353 Willy Garcia CEYLAN DIAMANTES proto

9 109 Gaspard Franeau AVOCATS SANS FRONTIERES proto

10 440 David Raison RAYON LIQUIDE serie

11 121 David Lancry MENSURA FROST proto

12 431 Samuel Manuard TIP TOP TOO – LE GRAU DU ROI PORT CAMARGUE proto