A total of 49 skippers have entered in La Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro which starts in August

This year’s La Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro promises exciting racing with a total of 49 sailors on the startline in Perros-Guirec, France.

From the 1-28 August 2005, renowned sailors, amateurs and rookies will face the 1,710 nautical miles from Perros-Guirec to Port-Bourgenay passing through Getxo-Bilbao, La Rochelle and Cork (Crosshaven) in Ireland.

Each year the entry list for La Solitaire includes a great selection of sailors. Experience among the sailors accounts for, seven Around the World races (Vendée Globe, Jules Verne Trophy, The Race, Whitbread), more than 100 trans-Atlantic race crossings (Route du Rhum, Transat Jacques Vabre, Québec-St Malo, Transat AG2R, BPE Trophy, Mini-Transats, five America’s Cup, almost 30 Tour de France à la Voile, Fastnet, Sydney – Hobart, Rolex Cup and match racing. Among these 49 skippers, Charles Caudrelier, winner of the 2004 edition, will be defending his title. He will be competing against the great sailors of the Figaro Bénéteau circuit, Jérémie Beyou, Yann Eliès, Sébastien Audigane, Eric Drouglazet and Kito de Pavant. Both Michel Desjoyeaux and Armel Le Cléac’h will be jumping boat, leaving their trimarans behind to compete in the race.

Some names have not appeared on the entry list for 15 years. Such is the case of de Pierre Mas, who last took part in 1990, as for Cyril Rognon, he is back after 13 years of absence.

Rookies are also due on the start line: Stéphane Sevaux – pharmacist, Jacques Einhorn – commercial director, Laurent Nabart – manager, Marc Lepesqueux – boat charter manager

This 36th edition welcomes nine newcomers who will fight to win the Bénéteau Rookie ranking. We will see Yannick Bestaven (winner of the Mini-Transat 2001), Jean-Christophe Caso (second in the Regatta Rubicon 2002), David Raison, (second in the Mini-Transat 2003). There are also three women: Sam Davies, Jeanne Grégoire and Liz Wardley