Seb Josse, on behalf of his entire AMRO Two crew, accepts Rod Stephens Trophy for Seamanship 18/1/07

ABN AMRO Two skipper Seb Josse was in New York on Tuesday accepting, on behalf of his entire crew, the Cruising Club of America’s 2006 Rod Stephens Trophy for Seamanship. The trophy, presented by Commodore Edward S. Rowland at the club’s annual awards dinner was for skillfully carrying out the night time recovery of an overboard crewmember during the Volvo Ocean Race last year.

While ultimately unsuccessful in saving the life of their fellow crew member – Hans Horrevoets – the crew located his body by acting quickly, following good, previously rehearsed procedures and using excellent judgment in carrying out search tactics. Following the recovery of the victim, strenuous and well-advised efforts were made, but the crew ultimately was not able to save him see previous news story here. 

The crew of ABN AMRO Two included Seb Josse (skipper), Simon Fisher (navigator), Scott Beavis, Nick Bice, Lucas Brun, Andrew Lewis, Luke Molloy, George Peet and Simeon Tienpont.