Today’s penultimate race at the Finn Gold Cup sees Ben Ainslie take a firm lead

After a postponement today (Saturday), the wind filled in with the best breeze that the competitors have had all week – 18-20 knots and big waves. Racing got underway under the black flag rule causing the fleet to be cautious and enabling a clear start to commence.

Olympic medallist Sebastien Godefroid of Belgium came out on top to win the race from fellow Olympian and team GBR sailor Ben Ainslie, with Mateusz Kusznierewicz, of Poland third. Fellow team GBR sailor Andrew Simpson scored his best result of the regatta finishing in fifth place.

After scoring a second place today, Ainslie extends his lead on the fleet and now has put 18 points between himself and second placed Mateusz Kusznierewicz of Poland, who is currently ranked number one in the world. Karlo Kuret of Croatia is in third place overall.

Ainslie commented: “The day went really well, I didn’t get the best start as I hung back to make sure that I wouldn’t get a black flag. I rounded the windward mark in eighth place and then managed to work my way through the fleet to finish second, which was pleasing.

“It is nice to go into the final day with an 18 point lead, but with two races tomorrow anything could happen. I won’t be trying anything different, I will just go out there and sail the same as I have been sailing all week.”

Chris Brittle, the 2002 junior European champion, looks set to successfully defend the junior world title that he won last year, he is currently in 13th place overall and has a good lead of Marin Mizura of Croatia who is 15th overall and second junior.

Racing concludes tomorrow with the race committee hoping to get two races in, in order to complete the nine race series that is scheduled. Racing cannot however, start after 1500, so it will be dependent on the wind forecast.


1, Ben Ainslie, GBR ((6),2,5,1,1,2,2) 13 pts

2, Mateusz Kusznierewicz, POL (5,(RTD),17,3,2,1,3) 31 pts

3, Karlo Kuret, CRO (7,4,(16),6,7,5,7) 36 pts

Other GBR

11, Charlie Cumbley (9,5,10,(30),8,12,30) 74 pts

12, Andrew Simpson (12,(41),8,7,24,26,5) 82 pts

13, Chris Brittle (J) ((33),7,19,17,26,4,13) 86 pts

33, Dave Mellor (47,21,51,5,(56),29,20) 173 pts

42, Adam Cowling (41,39,27,36,34,(65),52) 229 pts

52, Matt Howard (37,53,49,37,(RAF),39,60) 275 pts

64, Edward Greig (J) ((72),48,67,62,57,55,57) 346 pts