Holland's new 8-Metre wins 2005 World Championship in Toronto

Hollandia NED 1, designed by Doug Peterson and Ian Howlett, owned by Jos Fruytier and Ruud van Hilst and skippered by Philip Crebbin, has won the 2005 International 8-Metre World Championship held at Toronto’s Royal Canadian Yacht Club.

The victory came right down to the last race held in strong winds and building swells. Fleur de Lys FRA 29, owned by Gaston Schmalz and skippered by Jacques Fauroux needed to win the race to take home the championship. The two yachts had dominated the series finishing either first or second in the previous races in the 15-boat fleet. In the last downwind leg the French beat off a furious Dutch attempt to come from behind and crossed the finish line first. Unfortunately for the French a protest by Hollandia was upheld by the jury and Fleur de Lys placed second overall. In third place overall was Mystery USA 33, owned by Ron Palm.

The Sira Cup for vintage 8-Metres was won by Ralph Reimann’s Iskareen CAN 21. Venture II CAN 29 owned by Lorne Corley and Diane Palm placed second with Bangalore CAN 6 helmed by Terry McLaughlin in third.

The class World Championship returns to Europe next year. The 2006 International 8-Metre World Championship is being held at the Lindaur Segler Club on Lake Constance and the Centennial Anniversary of the class in 2007 will be held at the Royal Northern and Clyde Yacht Club in Rhu, Scotland the following year.