Luna Rossa told no, Alinghi wins Act 4

 Following an incident yesterday in the match between Italian Luna Rossa and BMW Oracle, the Italians sought redress after a messy leeward rounding which saw their spinnaker stream out of the boat and behave as a sea anchor before it was cast free.

The Italian team sought redress on the grounds that the umpire boat ran over their spinnaker sheet and in doing so dragged their spinnaker out of the boat and lost them 6 boat lengths. The jury were looking to hear the case from the Italians that the incident was, a) not their fault, b) significantly prejudiced their race and c) that umpire boat had acted improperly.

The result following the hearing was that the request for redress was turned down.

The result not only simplifies today’s racing and removes several of the ‘ifs’ that were in the air last night, but confirms that Team Alinghi has won Act 4 of the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup. Whatever happens on the race course today, Luna Rossa finishes fourth overall.

This leaves the big battles of the day, the scramble for 3rd between the Kiwis and American BMW Oracle Racing team and the scrap for 5th between the Spanish and the Swedes.

You can watch and listen live on as well as being able to catch our wrap-up of Act 4 later today.


Team Shosholoza v K-Challenge

Luna Rossa v Team Alinghi

BMW Oracle Racing v Emirates Team New Zealand

Mascalzone Capitalia v China Team

Victory Challenge v Desafio Espanol

United Internet Team v 39

****** LIVE AUDIO & RESULTS******

Follow the action live from Valencia as Richard Simmonds, Mark Covell and Matthew Sheahan report live from the course.

To listen to the daily commentary log on to the official site at;

Click here to go to the Official AC Site 


Click here to go to the results 


Alinghi – 10
Emirates Team New Zealand – 9
BMW ORACLE Racing – 9
Luna Rossa Challenge – 8
Desafío Español 2007 – 6
Victory Challenge – 5
39 Challenge – 3
K-Challenge – 3
Mascalzone Latino-Capitalia Team – 3
United Internet Team Germany – 3
China Team – 1
Team Shosholoza – 0